Service of Alcohol to Florida Children / Minors: Statute Criminalizes the Service of

Florida law criminalizes the selling, giving, or serving of alcohol to children / minors. Violating this law can land you in jail. Worse than that, violating this statute can cause the death of a Florida child and others affected by the effects of underage drinking.


Florida Statute Section, 562.11, provides the following”

Section 562.11, Florida Statutes Selling, giving, or serving alcoholic beverages to person under age 21; providing a proper name; misrepresenting or misstating age or age of another to induce licensee to serve alcoholic beverages to person under 21; penalties.–

(1)(a)1. It is unlawful for any person to sell, give, serve, or permit to be served alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 years of age or to permit a person under 21 years of age to consume such beverages on the licensed premises. A person who violates this subparagraph commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.

The rest of the statute can be read at the Official Florida Statute Website.

Contact Information