You will often read stories about Florida sexual offenders and predators being arrested or charged with lewd or lascivious conduct on a child. In many instances, the child is physically and / or mentally injured as a result of this conduct.
Section 800.04 (6) defines lewd or lascivious conduct as follows:
(a) A person who:
1. Intentionally touches a person under 16 years of age in a lewd or lascivious manner; or
2. Solicits a person under 16 years of age to commit a lewd or lascivious act.
You can read the full text of this Florida Statute at the official Florida Statutes Web site at Section 800.04, Florida Statutes -Lewd or lascivious offenses committed upon or in the presence of persons less than 16 years of age.—